All I Want is a Hug

Is it irrational to feel heartbroken when your 17-month-old baby girl refuses your affection? Am I allowed to take it personally when she’s standoffish and repeatedly rejects my advances screaming, “NON”?

See, I’m Mama Bear (proudly puts on mama hat). I’m not used to being rejected. I’m the one she usually runs to for comfort, not daddy …

Alas, the tables have turned. She vehemently refuses my hugs and kisses. She follows daddy when he leaves the room and waits anxiously at the front door when he’s out.

Maybe she’s punishing me for going away on a business trip. Maybe she’s asserting her strong-willed independence. Who knows? It’s tough when toddlers can’t adequately express themselves.

I know, I know, it’s just a phase, this too shall pass; but man, rejection sucks! All I want is a warm cuddle from my little one. I miss her big, smiley snuggles.

In any case, I’ll shower her with unconditional love and affection until the day I die. A joyous, loving, patient mama I will strive to be.

What is your experience with toddler rejection?

Copyright © 2012 Uwana.

6 thoughts on “All I Want is a Hug

  1. I know the feeling; every time Mama leaves for work, it’s a lot of “Mama, Mama, Mama!” while the little guy pushes me away and makes me feel like I’m just the parent that’s in the way. But, when she’s home and I’m trying to do my work from home thing there is a lot of “Papa, Papa, Papa,” too 🙂 It always makes me feel pretty special 🙂

    Like

  2. Oddly enough, your post brings back many fond memories for me! Even those awful days of “mommy rejection” were ultimately replaced (by a head cold or a scraped knee, usually) by an intense need/desire for Mommy once again! No worries; she’ll be back!

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouragement :). The emotional me is feeling dejected, but the rationale me is telling myself to stop being foolish, she’s just self-discovering. It’s good to know I’m not alone in this. Bless!

      Like

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

