Grief is a Funny Thing

The funny thing about grief is that while everyone is moving on, you’re still dealing with the carnage from your changed circumstances.

Life doesn’t stop just because your heart is breaking:

  • Kids need feeding
  • Spouse needs attention
  • Bills need to be paid
  • House needs cleaning
  • Work deadlines need to be met

… demands constantly arise as you navigate this emotional fiend called grief.

Grief is a funny thing.

  • It is raw ~ messy ~ complicated ~ painful ~ untamed ~ unpretty ~ illogical ~ transformative
  • It does not come in a neat, one-size-fits-all package
  • It ravages the soul and unveils deep truths

With grief there is no button for “pause”, “rewind”, “fast forward”, or “stop.” Life is always on “play” as your heart and mind ache for a new “normal.”

Grieving is hard work, but I’m encouraged by the promise in Psalm 30:5:

Weeping may last for the night, but joy comes in the morning

Copyright © 2012 Uwana.

13 thoughts on “Grief is a Funny Thing

  1. I always wanted to ask, what is it that you tell a person who’s grieving escpecially from the loss of a loved one. I have never known what to say and this has led me to avoid my grieving friends at a time when they possibly need me the most. I never know what to say coz i never know if i was in the same situation, what would make me feel any better.

    Like

    • I’m glad you asked this question.

      I lost my father only 2 weeks ago, and the pain is raw and unimaginable. For me personally, I’ve appreciated people just acknowledging the loss and reaching out to share their condolences. I think showing your presence and being a compassionate listening ear does wonders at a time when one can feel so alone and as though life doesn’t make sense. Everyone grieves differently, but love and compassion go a long way. Just be a good listener and let your friends lead you.

      Like

  2. You explain grief very well. I lost my husband in 2006 and it was a messy grieving process. Your words “ravages the soul and unveils deep truths” pretty well nails it for me. I have found a new normal. Peace be with you in your soul journey.

    Like

      • Many people have helped me along the way. At first I was pretty self destructive as I found myself stuck between not wanting to live, but too afraid to do myself in. There was a crossroads where I began a process of surrendering. I went in for counseling and even medication to help with my depression. I got back into my work, which I believe is my life calling..and helping others heal has helped me in my own healing. The scar tissue is there, but the wound is closed.

        Like

      • Wow! Thank you for being so open about your pain. I’m sure your testimony has helped many. I guess it’s all about finding the purpose in everything, including pain. I’m trying to make my pain purposeful, cos only then will it make sense…

        Like

  3. When I lost my husband in 1999, people didn’t know what to say to help. I assured folks that I wanted to talk about him. He was the best thing, apart from my wonderful Savior, that had ever happened to me, and just hearing his name brought joy – even if that joy was tempered with pain and longing. His memory is still very much a part of my life, even though I’ve been blessed with a new husband (also widowed). Just taking each day as it comes has been a help, and understanding what you said there – that grieving is different for everyone, and it’s not all tied up in a neat little box.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your story. It helps to read words of encouragement from people who have/are dealing with grief. I guess the memories live on. That’s what I’ll hang onto. Bess!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Are We a Society That Quickly Forgets? | Uwana

  5. Pingback: Clouds of Grief | Uwana

  6. Pingback: Does Grief Ever End? | Uwana

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

