People Hurt on Monday, NOT Just on Sunday!

Have you heard of Sunday Christians?

Those holier than thou, Jekyll and Hyde-type personalities who act like Christians on Sunday, but are completely different people the rest of the week?

Cross by Petr Kratochvil

Jesus likened such people to whitewashed tombs—beautiful on the outside, but filled on the inside with dead people’s bones and all sorts of impurity (Matthew 23:27–28).

I’m sure you get the picture!

Suffice it to say, Sunday Christians have gotten a really bad rep; but we haven’t heard much about their close cousins: Sunday Compassionate Leaders.

Who are these you ask?

Christian leaders who preach and demonstrate God’s love to the hurting on Sunday, while ignoring them the rest of the week; partly because they lack adequate systems and processes to empower and care for their congregation … yup! I went there!

Compassion is costly

Christians, including leaders and church members, love the coziness of their comfort zones, where it’s:

  • Warm
  • Predictable
  • Undemanding
  • Inexpensive

Christians are generally willing to pray for the sick, vulnerable, and hurting on Sunday because it’s convenient and doesn’t cost much.

Consider this: If I call someone or visit them on Monday, it will cost me extra gas, travel, and time. Conversely, if I wait until Sunday, it will cost me much less, and I’ll still get a gold star for my “Good Samaritan” box!

Unfortunately, a church that loves to huddle around the hurting on Sunday, calling them to the pulpit for fervent prayer, yet forgetting about their troubles on Monday, isn’t really following Christ or making an effective impact on the community.

Most of the love we show today is not converted

Given that we are called to emulate Christ’s love, what would Jesus say about this deficient form of christianity?

Jesus taught that love converted is superior to love spoken (Matthew 25:35−45):

  • I was hungry and you gave me something to eat
  • I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink
  • I was a stranger and you invited me in
  • I needed clothes and you clothed me
  • I was sick and you looked after me
  • I was in prison and you came to visit me

Christians should be the hands and feet of Jesus every day of the week, not just on Sunday.

We should actively care for people even when it’s not easy, even when it requires getting our hands dirty, and stepping out of our comfort zones.

To quote Pastor Sunday Adelaja:

True ministry is touching people with God’s love

Are you converting your love?

Copyright © 2012 Uwana.

8 thoughts on “People Hurt on Monday, NOT Just on Sunday!

  1. I agree whole-heartedly! I don’t just “like” this posting, I LOVE it! Thank you for sharing – I’ve also posted it in my “Inspiration” folder on Pinterest. The more people who read it, the more people will think about their words and actions. If we can live more as true Christians, who God intended us to be, the world WILL change for the better. You’re appreciated today! God bless you!!

    Like

  2. Wow, great insight. I think this is how most people go about their lives religious or non-religious. We do just enough to ultimately make our selves feel better. I’m not religious, but I do appreciate your words; they made me look inside my self.

    Thanks for the wisdom.

    Like

  3. Absolutely.

    Essentially these are principles to live by, and like you said, they are universal. I’m glad that the post triggered something inside you.

    Spread the word and thanks for the visit. Bless!

    Like

  4. *”We should actively care for people even when it’s not easy, even when it requires getting our hands dirty, and stepping out of our comfort zones…” This phrase I can identify with 100%..Its part of my natural DNA..I could list a ton of examples of how I convert my love but its far bigger than me/my actions. My sincere desire is to spread the love I feel inside. I crave love..therefore its what I give. Naturally. Nor do I really take the time to take note of what others are/aren’t doing. Know why? Because thats a waste of my time. N time these days is so precious and my days are full. What I do hope is that others can feeeeel my vibe N that it will spread. I wish there was more love shown/given in our country N the world..Ever heard that old adage@What the world needs know is love , sweet love? I don’t feel there was a time is was more relevant than our current times. Its the only language that needs NO translation. As usual I’ve felt warmth from your words N a positive message. Keep spreading your vibe..Stay lifted N blessed! Sincerely, Berna(the 1 N only)

    Like

    • Re: Nor do I really take the time to take note of what others are/aren’t doing.

      We should all be headed in this selfless direction. Where we love people just because. Like you said, love is a universal language, but some people are not proficient in it, nor do they understand it. We need to learn how to love unconditionally like Jesus did. But this kind of love is selfless and costly. Society has a distorted and ignorant understanding of love, and we need to change this, by being examples and raising the standard, like you’re doing 🙂

      Thanks for the great insight! Bless.

      Like

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

