Proverbs 4: Knowledge Transfer

As I was meditating on Proverbs 4, it dawned on me that I’ve spent 70% of my life as a student!

What I miss most about my student days is the constant growing and learning. I used to hate exams, but looking back, I realize that they forced me to pay greater attention and maintain focus.

Later in my student life, I was blessed with the opportunity to pass on my knowledge to new students. This was especially rewarding because I got to advance science by training the next generation of thinkers.

Proverbs 4:7 outlines an effective roadmap for success:

Wisdom is the principal thing;
Therefore get wisdom.
And in all your getting, get understanding.

The author places a high value on wisdom and challenges us to stop at nothing in pursuit of it.

When I reflect on my dedication to advancing science, I am inspired to be even more diligent in pursuing wisdom and understanding. We are encouraged to not only listen to good guidance, but to pass it on to the next generation.

For I am giving you good guidance. Don’t turn away from my instructions. For I, too, was once my father’s son, tenderly loved as my mother’s only child (Proverbs 4: 2–3).

The transfer of knowledge is an act of love which ensures that wisdom is never lost; the cycle continues from one generation to the next.

Let us show love for one another by sharing our knowledge and wisdom.

Knowledge transfer is most effective when conducted in a systematic and structured manner, a task that can be very difficult in the real world, especially with a toddler in tow. Nonetheless, Proverbs 4:7 warns us not to “get sidetracked” and to “keep our feet from following evil.”

As I run with perseverance the race God has set before me, I try to throw off everything that hinders me and the sin that so easily entangles (Hebrews 12:1). How does anyone stay focused on [writing] when they’re so many awesome blogs to visit? What techniques do you use to stay focused?

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

