Saying Goodbye

Clock

For the family member grieving the home-going of a dearly departed loved one, for the parent sending off their child to school or college for the first time, for the person leaving friends and family to begin a new adventure, saying goodbye is never easy. Letting go of the ones you love never gets easier.

Being a third culture kid, and having suddenly lost my father in October 2012, I’ve had to say many goodbyes. I keep telling myself: Goodbyes are part of life. To every alpha there is an omega. To every beginning there is an end.

But life is lived in chunks. In seasons. In minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, years … every stage of our lives is part of a bigger story.

The sting of goodbyes is made a tad lighter through time well spent (so I’m learning). Through living life abundantly in bite-sized chunks. Through numbering our days and making each minute count. Because only then can we avoid the pain of regret, forgetting the past and focusing on what lies ahead.

LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered—how fleeting my life is (Psalm 39:4).

More thoughts on seizing time:
14 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. Hi thank you for the reminder of not taking life for granted. Yes, all of our lives are numbered. We never know when death is going to come knocking. Sometimes it’s fast like an older woman I know found out she had cancer and one week later she died. This was a blessing, her family said. No pain for her and no agonizing minutes watching your love one waste away. While others death is so agonizing long. I in my humaneness ask why? I know all answers will come when I go to heaven, they questions won’t hold any importance any more.

    Like

    • Isn’t that the truth! The questions I agree about why did this to happen etc are not as important as making sure you’re okay with the ones you love and that you’re at peace with God.

      Like

  2. Ohh, I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your father. I’ve told my own dad he’s not allowed to die. Lol. But, truly. The year-mark is hard. I know you are missing him now, but at least we know we are not lost from him for forever? I agree that we need to make every second count, as much as possible… It is a gift. A gift from our good God. Much love to you!

    Like

      • Hi, in response I went to my writings. As I read the different postings that dealt with “loss”, I was overcome again by the deep feelings of each occurrence of parting. And I think that the grief changes me. It create an opening in me that can be filled with love and compassion for others. It softens be to be more vulnerable to what is important. And the loved ones who I have lost are not really gone from me. They live in me and through my thoughts and memories of them. So I am changed. I am enriched. I am bursting with the fulness of all of these people who touched my life and gave me a piece of themselves to carry forever. Does any of that make sense to you? http://alettertomychildren.wordpress.com/2009/06/20/a-time-for-grief/

        Like

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

