Super Mom? I Think Not

Balancing work and family has been on my mind ever since returning to the workforce after a year of love with my now 2.5-year-old.

Without a doubt, it’s not easy being a parent juggling a full-time job with a family life. My mind is never truly at ease, constantly being plagued with feelings of guilt and stress because of divided attention between work and home. Sometimes it feels like no matter how hard I try, it’s never enough.

Imagine my JOY after coming across this insightful take on self-defeating assumptions geared at career women:

You think you can’t, so you don’t.
Talented women sometimes “leave before they leave,” assuming that they won’t be promoted (or succeed when they have children) so they start behaving like they’re departing years before departure, thus foreclosing their options. It’s one thing to be realistic, it’s another to behave like a loser before entering the game (by 
Rosabeth Moss Kanter).

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve been guilty of checking out of the game even before getting started.

As a working mom with a growing family who is eager to have more children, I find myself constantly second guessing family and career decisions.

Thankfully, I have a wonderful supportive partner who keeps me grounded and pushes me to pursue my dreams. It’s not easy, but I’m grateful for the many opportunities God has given me. Grace and love will have to carry us through this crazy journey called life.

How do you keep self-defeating assumptions at bay? How do you maintain a healthy work/home/life balance despite the myriad of demands placed on your time?

This post is part of the Zero to Hero 30-Day Blog Challenge: Day 3 – What’s on your mind?

For your reading pleasure:

5 thoughts on “Super Mom? I Think Not

  1. I have yet to feel like I have found balance (and I’m not even working full-time right now). However, when I do start to feel overwhelmed by my roles and responsibilities as a woman, wife, mother, sister, daughter and friend, I remind myself that I am enough. I am doing my best, and some people/responsibilities/etc. need more from me at different times. If there is something I want to do or try but am unsure of, I think about showing my kids how I want them to accept new challenges in life: without fear.

    Like

  2. Obviously, I have no clue what it means to be a mom, later on a working mom. 🙂
    Talking about work/home/life balance it is a work in progress for me. I think it is an everyday experience. I am comforted by the fact that people who have changed the world; people who have impacted society are rarely “balanced people”. And that is true of the most creative people I know.
    In my experience, I have found that committing to doing only one thing at any given time works well in keeping my sanity, but the trouble is in deciding what has to be done when. 🙂

    Like

    • I think one of the biggest myths out there is “multitasking,” focusing on 1 task at a time is more effective and makes you less scattered brained and forgetful. Yes, prioritizing is what will keep the chaos at bay. I’m getting better at prioritizing tasks and letting other things go. At the end of the day, we’re all striving for balance in whatever we do, and it’s finding that happy medium that is hard to get.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Super Mom? I Think Not | mkt

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

