Tales From 2AM Feedings: Booby Time

Booby Time

After Junior was born, I relied on an alarm clock to schedule his feedings. I know, I know, it’s preferable to feed on demand, but during the initial period of adjustment, I needed a concrete plan to ensure that my baby received regular frequent nourishment.

Is it 2 a.m. already?

You see Junior was diagnosed with severe jaundice  at birth (a tale for another day). Because jaundiced babies tend to be sluggish poor feeders, it was important to feed him at regularly-spaced intervals to effectively treat the jaundice. Suffice it to say, my alarm was programmed to beep every 2 to 3 hours in the early AM:

  • 0100, 0330, 0600, 0830…..

The rules were often broken by impromptu wake ups and diaper changes, but you get the gist.

Booby time

Today, I’m happy to say my baby is healthy and thriving, and I feed on demand. I no longer rely on an alarm clock because something beautiful has happened: my boobs have their own internal clock.

When it’s time to nurse, I experience this tingling, prickling, electric sensation in my breasts. It doesn’t hurt, it’s just a reminder that it’s time to feed. Sometimes Junior “tells” me beforehand, but often times my “super power” steps in to remind me. The body truly is a remarkable thing.

What’s been your experience with scheduled vs on-demand feeding?

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

