The Day I Tried to Teach My Daughter About Numbers

Numbers are all around us. They are integral for making lists, and you know how much everyone loves lists, at least I do:

  1. Lists keep me sane
  2. Make me feel in control
  3. Help me remember stuff
  4. Protect my overworked brain

Being the dedicated parent, I’ve been trying to teach my daughter about numbers so that one day she too can organize her life through thoughtful lists—yes, I know, I’m a super geek.

Princess Z is not yet 4, so sequencing numbers is still tricky for her. The eager beaver I am tried to teach her using this wonderful French math book from the local library (mon imagier du calcul).

As you can imagine, this endeavor was not without its challenges, mainly because of my limited patience, overzealousness, and poor timing. The environment just wasn’t conducive for learning.

  • It had been a long day.
  • I was tired.
  • Princess Z was tired and hungry.
  • The baby was fussing.

What really saddened me was the forlorn expression on my daughter’s face as she struggled to “play” the numbers game. But Princess Z is her mother’s daughter. Determined not to be defeated, she insisted on trying until she could effortlessly navigate the math book.

Moral of the story:

  1. Children need nurturing and encouragement to succeed.
  2. I need more patience.
  3. Teaching is strategic.
  4. Educators are a blessing.

This post was written in response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Satisfaction of a List.”

2 thoughts on “The Day I Tried to Teach My Daughter About Numbers

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

