Sometimes My Kids Bring Out the Worst in Me

Finger wag

I LOVE my kids to the moon and back. Both of them. Even the independent, headstrong, determined toddler going on 16.

So how is it that they expose the ugliest traits in me?

  • Crazy frustration
  • Impatience
  • Anger
  • That gnarly finger wagging

…making me a poor model of the 9 fruits of the Spirit.

Nobody wants to appear like a mean, scary monster. I’d like to think it’s partly attributed to sleep deprivation, but what about when the Princess:

  • Doesn’t listen
  • Refuses to listen
  • Blatantly ignores me
  • Is stubborn as a mule
  • Sucks the energy out of the room
  • Screams in my ear
  • Doesn’t listen
  • Refuses to listen
  • Whines erratically
  • Screams in my ear
  • Tries and tries me

And all of the above in the span of 30 minutes?!

Yet, I can truly say, without hesitation that my children are the best thing that has happened to me. Although they bring out the worst in me, they also bring out the absolute BEST in me. It’s a rollercoaster of emotions, hence my fascination with emotional intelligence (more here).

Just today my Princess was brushing her teeth and it melts my heart how she tried so hard to do a good job; her focus and determination were endearing. Not to mention her quest to “find happy;” she certainly inspires me to seek happiness.

If anything, my kids have helped me become more loving, patient, and emotionally intelligent. As a mother, I am now more:

  • Self-aware
  • Disciplined
  • Motivated
  • Empathetic
  • Sociable

So thank you my crazy offspring for being you, and for making me a better me!

2 thoughts on “Sometimes My Kids Bring Out the Worst in Me

  1. Bupe, I can relate to all of this from when my three wonderful children were toddlers. Parenthood is so humbling and rewarding all at the same time. The tables have turned at my house, and it’s me that gets in trouble for not listening–so I apologize and make the effort to be in the moment. And that’s rewarding when I realize they want to be with me despite all of my imperfections. You sound like an attentive and loving mother. I used to run and hide in the bathroom when I needed a sanity break. I always kept gardening and decorating magazines in there for a mommy timeout. 😉

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    • Haha, funny that you now get into trouble for listening. I try to take mommy timeouts in the bathroom, but end up having a screaming frustrated toddler wanting in, lol. In a few more years I guess.

      Like

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

