Quit Being Beige

The Day the Crayons Quit

Beige Crayon from The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

If you haven’t yet purchased The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt for your avid reader, I highly recommend it. Not only is this book fun and engaging, it is a wonderful tool for discussing feelings and emotions with your little ones. Children are never too young to learn about emotional intelligence.

You see, my 4-year-old Princess Z had become accustomed to assuming the posture depicted by Beige Crayon whenever she felt sulky, sad, or ignored. I tried numerous tricks to snap her out of this mopey picture of negativity that was often accompanied by sighs, huffs, and ughs, but nothing worked.

So you can imagine my excitement the first time I read The Day the Crayons Quit to her and came across Beige Crayon, her sulky comrade.

Me: Hey look. Do you want to be like Beige Crayon? Mopey and sad?
Princess Z: I don’t like Beige I like Pink.
Me: Okay, if you don’t want me to call you Beige, then you have to stop sulking.
Princess Z: I don’t like Beige. I like happy.

And that was it! These days, whenever I catch her stooping her shoulders and moping, I simply call her “Beige,” and she snaps out of it immediately.

I love books. Such great teachers.

4 thoughts on “Quit Being Beige

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

