365 Moments (D3): Keeping A Cool Head In A Hot Situation

Sometimes we’re put into challenging situations to test our mettle. Here’s my story about keeping a cool head in the midst of road rage.

Source: iwantthatsign.com

Source: iwantthatsign.com

Anyone who’s visited Montreal knows that the roads are a hot mess and constantly under construction; sadly, road ragers tend to proliferate in such environments.

I had just dropped my daughter off at daycare and was heading back home with baby, when trouble erupted. I was confronted by an angry elderly couple. You see the road I was driving on could only accommodate one car at a time. Thinking I was being the bigger person, I pulled my car to the side of the road to allow the driver to pass (and I didn’t have to since I had right of way). I guess I didn’t leave the driver enough space because what ensued was redonkulous! Dude inched near my car, rolled down his window, and began shouting like a rabid animal; ironic how age is not a predictor for good behavior.

As he was spewing his venom, I told myself, “Don’t engage, don’t engage.” I refused to make eye contact and kept my window firmly shut. All I know is that it was too early in the morning to get worked up by a road rager. I was not going to let this man’s disrespectful behavior set the tone for my day.

How many of you can testify that we should be slow to speak and slow to become angry?

A few thoughts on anger:

  • Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools (Ecclesiastes 7:9)
  • People with understanding control their anger; a hot temper shows great foolishness (Proverbs 14:29)
  • Stop being angry! Turn from your rage! Do not lose your temper—it only leads to harm (Psalm 37:8)

I’m proud of myself for displaying a high level of emotional intelligence: I controlled my emotions, I was not easily provoked, I did not lose my temper, and I didn’t act a fool in front of my baby.

Source: Jed Rogers Design Studio

Source: Jed Rogers Design Studio


This post is part of an ongoing series under Quick Tips for Creating a 365-day Motivation Guide.

2 thoughts on “365 Moments (D3): Keeping A Cool Head In A Hot Situation

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.

