Don’t Let the Big Bad Wolf Scare You

Public speaking scares me. Being in the spotlight can be blinding. Meeting brilliant, super accomplished people can do a number on my bowels.

Picture your first job interview or your first class presentation. Imagine the first time you met your childhood “idol,” your first love, a “celebrity,” or even your mother-in-law … did scary thoughts of, “How should I behave? Will I sound sophisticated? Will I project the ‘right’ image?” whiz through your head?

The best advice I ever received on how to handle intimidating or larger-than-life personalities was from my husband, who reminded me: they are just people! 

They breathe the same air, and just like me, they pee, they poop, they bleed, they cry, they laugh …

When I allow my mind to wander into “woe is me” territory, to an insecure place where I psyche myself out into a tizzy, I’m only fighting me.

Today, when I get nervous about meeting high profile individuals, I simply remind myself, “They are just people!”

How do you handle intimidating situations?

Read and grow:

Copyright © 2012 Uwana.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let the Big Bad Wolf Scare You

  1. I’ve worked with many celebrities and have not been star-struck yet. Don’t get me wrong, I have really enjoyed meeting and working with them. Many are fascinating people. Some had God directing their paths but it didn’t negate what God’s amazing individualized plan for my life is! No one else in life has been, or is exactly like me – which is incredible to discern. Besides that, I’m a celebrity too, I’m a child of the King!

    Great stuff, thanks for posting!

    Like

Share your thoughts. I promise to respond.